Sapporo Snow Festival (Yuki matsuri)

Hey everyone,

I haven’t written anything since I arrived in Sapporo as I’ve been quite busy, which is good.

Today, I wanted to talk quickly about the Snow festival in Odori park. It happened between the 5th and 11th of February this year. At the same time you have the Susukino Ice World which includes a competition of ice sculptures.

I went to the Snow festival on Sunday the 8th, the day after I arrived in Sapporo and it was raining. The snow sculptures got damaged because of it which explains my pictures. When I arrived on site I saw a ski jump and a few skiers and snowboarders were going at it. It was really impressive!

IMG_1661

Then I went to see the Star Wars sculpture. Pretty cool and so big! I went till the end of the park which is quite long and passed by various anime characters, castles and many other types of sculptures.

IMG_1924

IMG_1763IMG_1705

I did stop to look at a girl band (an idol group maybe AKB48), they were freezing and singing very badly. But I was more impressed by a group of male fans that had choreographies for different songs and were singing along. I’d seen something like that in animes but to see it in real life was very funny.

IMG_1731

There were also a lot of food stands. It looked really delicious.

IMG_1727IMG_1694

On the 11th, I went to see the Susukino Ice World. Some sculptures had to be destroyed for security reasons but there were still some impressive and weird ones. One with fish and crabs in the ice was definitely odd but interesting. There was also one with a dragon which was really well done.

I had a good time and I thought it was very cool!

IMG_1893IMG_1914

One thought on “Sapporo Snow Festival (Yuki matsuri)

  1. Hey very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am happy to find so many useful information here in the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

Leave a comment